Find Magazines

Search By Keyword:
 
 

Latest Reviews

NZ 4WD Magazine  - Apr-2016
Vol 20 #3 (its been 20 years) Events- Aussie -Kiwi Clash at Rally Cross; End of Defender S  ... Full Review   
  
New Zealand Classic Car  - Mar-2016
#303 Typing as we go   ... Full Review   
  
Beaded Wheels  - Mar-2016
Feb-March 2016 #338 1924 Star 12/25 Restoration; Noel Daly -Helmet pioneer Vero Internati  ... Full Review   
  
Beaded Wheels  - Jan-2016
Dec 2015-Jan 2016 #337 typing as we go --back here May 2016...  ... Full Review   
  
Classic Cars  - Dec-2015
AC Ace 1958 Racer Rescue restoration; ; Jaguar 420-S Type buyers Guide; Lotus Elise celebr  ... Full Review   
  

Ads by Google

Car Mag Reviews

 
Car Mag Goals 

  • To help car enthusiasts worldwide locate and source the information they require from car magazines from past and present.
     
  • To provide information in a timely manner.
     
  • To promote the preservation of older car magazines and their storage so all can have access.
2006-2016 © Car Mag Reviews    Now done over 1265 Reviews!

What we offer....

 

You may be an individual wanting to

  • research a vehicle before its purchase
  • examine how a car was restored as you are about to restore a similar one
  • want to know how to maintain your car
  • want information about modifying your car
  • you may drive a rare car and want to know who else has one world wide 
  • know if your car featured as road test car 
  • know if your car had a competitive history
  • find our who built your car if it was a special

Or you may be a library service wanting to provide information  to others

 
This site means you no longer need to waste time looking for that elusive article when someone has taken the time to do it for you.
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Content Space Available 
This space Available For Content - For a Small fee 
Last guy a so -called reputable car writer promised me contacts in Australia that never happened .... I cannot say I been very impressed with Australian car journalists - The Level of arrogance....unique to Aussies - as elsewhere around the world mostly communication is very good 

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Volunteer Work available 
Looking for Volunteer Motoring Journalists To help me review contents of Magazines ? This would be ideal for a Student and if you prove Excellent I will give you a reference also A Student who knows their way around Social Media would help 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Service 
For those of you in process of importing a Classic Car into New Zealand or else where and the need to gain document proof from a magazine that you car is rare in terms of number produced or number that survive I offer a service of $30.00 NZ per hour for Kiwis and elsewhere $30.00 USA per hour to provide references from a magazine that prove your car is what it is 

---------------------------------------------------------
Background & Importance to the this new Service - 

For 42 years of my 54 years on this earth I have compiling a very detailed car index to many of the worlds Car magazines from publication date 1947-2001 to over 35 different publications but mainly from those of the UK and New Zealand  

Over the the last 10 years the emphasisis is on on Vintage & Classic - and in the course of my research (and Note its always on going)  I have  now got to the stage where I can provide past history of some of the more  interesting and rare vintage Cars world wide of where they have been and in some cases a detailed ownership and restoration history up to 2001 this is important information to investors collectors a known history improves the value of the vehicle and who else had one 

Many countries have destroyed paper registration details in course of going computerised and more centralised ; original Registration plates are freely traded (a terrible practice - Not a fan)  which also makes it difficult to track where cars are and lastly the draconian privacy laws regarding ownership - Here in New Zealand even the first owner of 1957 MGA is now removed from an on-line registration of a document (Struth guys..thats a bit over the top I can understand last 5-10 years for privacy concerns  but the first owner. NUTS..) 

In Addition some magazines have really gone even more 'PC' by blanking out registration plates of period photos for example the near stock production cars that raced in the Benson n Hedges series here in NZ in 1972!! or when they cover a latest restoration blank out or use the magazine logo on reg plate - I really pity the motoring historians that come after me its going to make life extremely difficult 

With myself as I taken notes from material from a magazine that was published years ago before the Privacy act - The fact magazine may have published ownership material then means its in the public record and no longer private ..and My service will be valuable 

Can you find what I do on the Net 
Nope as my Database is OFF-LINE and only one in the entire world that has a site like this - one few if any only who has such a personally created index as most Car people specialise in individual make 

---------------------------------------------------------------

July 2015 - March 2016 

Personal Statement 

There been a huge gap - Over last few months I had a few health issues and scares which has reduced my time adding to the site and decision this year to reduce my work load and emphasis more on Classic & Vintage Magazines and vehicles thats more my thing - There no way I get 22 new magazines out each month as i do not have a team of writers its just me....(prehaps i should add a few team members - Any Student Journalists out there whom know their cars ) 

There will be a fewer magazines added but concentrated on Vintage & Classic  as for the moderns  I will stop or reduce to reviewing 1 from every to 1 in 3-4  months (this currently happens with NZ Autocar; NZ Trucking and NZ4WD which i will continue Usually i can get NZ4WD out quite quickly as there not a hell lot of content...but this year i got behind  - strangly there is a lot you out there over the last year asking me for late issues of NZ Autocar many are gaps not covered on the site which I got notes for waiting for me to find the time to type it in  

I am moving away to paying site I provide free search but this is not going to get money on the table to this site; the magazines don t support me i even said to one pass the hat around and up there Auckland he did not understand that.concept  hell bells.....  it cost me over $700 in running expences a year to keep it up so this year its up make use it 

Visits 
Made a complete 'Ass' of myself last week week in Porirua - Spoke a Million miles an hour -very hypa  to Phil The Technical Director of Low Volume Car Association as I was told by his assistant that he give me only 2 minutes and made a presentation on what my website is and my service is - He probably thought I escaped from a mental health wing of Kenapuru Hospital - I usually don t talk that quickly as I am a professional and experienced Public speaker and often do Presentations as part of  my work place Earthlink Inc from 12 to 100 people in fact I doing one on Friday to Probation Services in the Hutt! 

People Met 
Gordon of GP Electronics 
In the course of my work - Yesterday met Gordon Whom owns and restores 2 Mazda RX4 Coupes and apparently is on list to buy and recieve the new RX8 replacement the RX-9 Vision 











April 2015 - June 2015 
Working my way through the mags 
Just Finished 
Feb-March 2015 Beaded Wheels 
Currently April-May 2015 Beaded Wheels over the ANZAC weekend 
Then 
April 2015 NZ Classic Car Followed by Autocar & NZ4WD 

Correspndance 

Camaro potential owner -thicko asks my advice to get paper literature to back up his claim so he can bring in a 2006 Chevrolet Camaro SS into NZ (well mate that would be a pre-production proto I doubt you got one of those as production started 2009) He fails to me the spec and gives an incorrect email address (Please no Hot mail addresses) I think I may have tracked him down to Car Salesman at GWD Toyota who was a bit shocked i could track him down - but said it was not him -Why did you ask for the content of the email then mate? 

More...

Looking through old Publications 
Just finished documented a Classic Rare Beauty - The January 1973 Car South Africa which has a road test of ex UK new Ford Granada GXL 3.0 1972 converted by Basil Green to -8 5.0 Power via C4 Automatic - I may list other material in it I got a 2 more 73 issues to do and 2 1960s issues picked up via Trademe 

Aug  1985 Classic & Sportscar (working on t on and off) interesting in the Discovery section a Watsonian Motorised pedal car this been discussed a JAG E type influenced that could get up speeds of 120mph and was sold by Harrods in 1960s for 900 pounds (the price of a new Mini then!) its interesting that in the latest Beaded Wheels a Vintage Motorcycle enthusist used his Watsonian Pedal car as a 'Side Car' and has no idea that it may 1 of 11 surivors... or is it 12?

News 

BBC Top Gear UK 
  • What a continued Fiasco in regard to BBC Top Gear UK - Totally out of proportion that could have been solved by simple hand shake and sorry by Clarkson but the BBC management would have to meet him half way - but it appears the Oxford-Cambridge Old Guard did not regard him 'as the same cloth' and in there stubborness they stand to loose 50 million pounds a year +Merchandising -Personally the way its was handled I Think the Head of the BBC (a Lord in House of Lords)  should fall on his Sword as the honourable thing to do What a F^&%wit - In a private company if a Business looses 50 million pounds shareholders would demand the CEO to go....
  • Something is really wrong with BBC Top Brass - They Shut down successful shows at their peak of success  
  1. "The Night Garden' ; A Favourite amonst Babbies to 8 year olds
  2.  They shut down Touchwood probaby because it leading writer  got his nickers in a Jam over the leading actor
  3. and now its BBC top Gear - 
  4. Whats left is Dr Who and BBC News (that not known for what  used to be..for un-biased reporting) 

  • Its pretty clear Clarkson would like to come back as would the other 2 - 1M+ fans would like it too!
  •  Congrats to other two for standing by Him and anyone coming in to replace it does not want it as it will not work...and ratings would fall - Both myself and my partner Leonie who is NOT a car nut Love the show...for Entertainment value..
  • I know he can appear to be a dickhead or as May put it a Real Knob but he is great entertainment value  To me it appears this blow up is a trifle matter and was last straw - poor bugger been under a lot of pressure the Argentina Trip as it was mosty scripted  would have been approved by the Producers!! and they should have seen the reg of car (despite its a real reg on the Porsche 928S) The Indian Fiaso and Mexican - I believe the powers that be wanted him out...and they got what they wished for .. (anyone whom has seen the BBC Top Gear before Clarkson will be bored out of their mind to tears..its so bloody dry...) I Always Enjoyed Clarksons writings in CAR UK (the days when it was good- sadly its not) Performance Car UK and Fast Lane +many of his books - A Sad day...Indeed for many of the car and non car audience world-wide 
CAR UK Changes Image and Format of mags 
Speaking of CAR UK - As from the latest issue April 2015 they changed the graphics of the cover and format of the mag to say these a real improvements ...for better ...hmmmm (I documented most 1980s and early 90s issues) 

Updating details of Mags 

  • 4x4 Action and Full Throttle is deceased late 2014 as a paper magazine due in part to main driving force John Read (JR) nursing his Terminal cancer dying wife over last 6 months - However their Facebook pages are active 
  • BBC Top Gear NZ deceased March 2014 -last issue and you probaby noticed from April 2014 New Zealand is now getting BBC Top Gear Australia - - I wonder how they are getting on since March 2015 with lack of Clarkson; May and the Hamster? 
-------------------------------------------------------------

November 2014 to March 2015 

Happy New Year to everybody!